Update History ▾
October 7, 2026: Corrected the BPC-157 human-data record and citations, added the July 23, 2026 advisory-committee votes, and replaced the reconstitution section and volume math with a storage note. Further corrections the same day: the BPC-157 human record now lists the five studies in FDA's July 2026 briefing; the only human combination data (four patients in a 2021 chart review) are named; the TB-500 vote is added; the April 2026 Category 2 change and its Reuters source are corrected; TB-500 is defined with sources (Ac-LKKTETQ, CAS 885340-08-9) and actin sequestration is credited to full-length Tβ4; two unsupported "first" claims are removed.
May 28, 2026: Added the April 2026 FDA regulatory update and the July 23–24 2026 PCAC 503A Bulks List review of BPC-157 and TB-500 (Category 2 wording corrected October 7, 2026).
May 27, 2026: Initial publication framing the BPC-157 + TB-500 blend as complementary (not synergistic) co-administration. Surfaces the explicit absence of peer-reviewed human combination data in 2025-2026. Cites the NBC News April 2026 reporting on RFK-driven FDA review and the July 23-24 2026 FDA PCAC hearing. Links out to the dedicated BPC-157 and TB-500 mechanism articles.
TL;DR — Research Summary

The BPC-157 + TB-500 blend is a co-formulated 5 mg + 5 mg research vial that pairs two compounds with complementary preclinical mechanisms — and almost no human combination data: four patients in one uncontrolled 2021 chart review, and no trial of the pair.[8] BPC-157 carries the nitric-oxide, VEGF/eNOS angiogenic, and FAK-paxillin growth-factor literature.[1] TB-500, defined by FDA as the synthetic Thymosin Beta-4 fragment Ac-LKKTETQ, borrows its rationale from the G-actin-sequestration and cell-migration literature on full-length Thymosin Beta-4; the biological effects of the fragment itself have not been documented.[2][10][11] The pathways are non-overlapping, which is the published basis for co-administration in animal-model work — but no published Phase 2 or Phase 3 human trial of the combination exists, and no PubMed-indexed human pharmacokinetic profile of the blend exists either.[3] The U.S. regulatory backdrop is the July 23-24, 2026 FDA Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee hearing on BPC-157, TB-500, KPV, and MOTS-c (Docket FDA-2025-N-6895), partly driven by HHS Secretary Robert F. Kennedy Jr.'s public support for these peptides in the longevity community.[4][5]

Compliance note: this page is a research review of a co-formulated research vial, not a treatment guide. It does not provide human-use dosing, therapeutic recommendations, or any clinical-use instructions, and should be read in the same non-therapeutic frame required across Remy's research content.

What Is the BPC-157 + TB-500 Blend?

The blend is a single lyophilized research vial containing 5 mg BPC-157 co-formulated with 5 mg of the TB-500 synthetic Thymosin Beta-4 fragment. Total peptide content per vial is 10 mg. The two compounds are co-lyophilized rather than packaged in separate vials, which fixes the ratio at 1:1 by mass.

BPC-157 (Body Protection Compound 157) is a 15-amino-acid pentadecapeptide (sequence Gly-Glu-Pro-Pro-Pro-Gly-Lys-Pro-Ala-Asp-Asp-Ala-Gly-Leu-Val, CAS 137525-51-0, MW 1419.55 g/mol) derived from a stable fragment of a protein originally isolated from human gastric juice. Its preclinical signal centres on tissue-repair models involving nitric oxide, VEGF/eNOS angiogenic signalling, and FAK-paxillin growth-factor activity. The deep mechanism walk-through lives in the dedicated BPC-157 healing peptide review.[1]

TB-500 is defined by FDA and the anti-doping literature as Ac-LKKTETQ, the N-acetylated Thymosin Beta-4 (Tβ4) fragment spanning residues 17–23 (889 g/mol, CAS 885340-08-9). Products sold under the name vary, and some contain or claim full-length Tβ4 (43 amino acids, 4,963.4 g/mol, CAS 77591-33-4), so a vial's COA mass is what identifies its contents.[10] Full-length Tβ4 is the principal G-actin-sequestering peptide in mammalian cells, and the actin-cytoskeleton, cell-migration and angiogenesis findings behind the TB-500 rationale come mainly from full-length Tβ4; the biological effects of TB-500 itself have not been documented.[11] The separately bioactive N-acetyl-Ser-Asp-Lys-Pro (Ac-SDKP) peptide is Tβ4 residues 1–4 and is not part of TB-500. The deep mechanism walk-through lives in the dedicated TB-500 (Thymosin Beta-4 fragment) review.[2]

The job of this article is not to repeat either compound-level mechanism walkthrough. It is to explain why the two are stacked in a single vial format, what the combination evidence base actually says, and how a research reader should design a protocol around the blend rather than around either single-compound vial.

Why Researchers Stack the Two: Complementary Pathways

The published rationale for co-administering BPC-157 with TB-500 in animal-model repair work is mechanistic complementarity. The two compounds target distinct, non-overlapping biology, and the stack hypothesis is that addressing two pathway clusters simultaneously is informative in a way that neither single agent is on its own.

The pathway split is clean:

Read together, the stack hypothesis is that BPC-157 modulates the vascular and growth-factor signal underneath a repair site while TB-500 is assumed, by extrapolation from full-length Tβ4, to modulate the cytoskeletal-migration signal at the cell level. The two effects are mechanistically additive in concept — angiogenesis plus actin-driven cell migration are recognised cooperating components of wound repair in standard cell-biology textbooks — but cooperative pathway logic and demonstrated clinical superiority are not the same claim.

This is exactly why "synergy" is the wrong word here. Synergy is a specific pharmacological claim that requires combination data showing the joint effect exceeds the additive sum of the two single-agent effects. No such combination dataset has been published for BPC-157 + TB-500. Until one is, the honest description of the stack is "complementary co-administration" rather than "synergy." Any source using "synergy" without that caveat is going past the published evidence.

AttributeBPC-157TB-500 (thymosin β-4 fragment)
ClassSynthetic pentadecapeptide (15 aa)Synthetic thymosin β-4 fragment, defined as Ac-LKKTETQ (residues 17–23); products sold under the name vary
Primary research focus (preclinical)Tendon, ligament, GI and soft-tissue modelsActin regulation, cell migration, tissue repair (data mostly from full-length thymosin β-4)
Mechanism most studiedNitric-oxide pathway, angiogenesis, growth factorsActin sequestration / cell migration, documented for full-length thymosin β-4; TB-500's own effects not documented
Human evidenceVery limitedVery limited
Blend (combination) evidenceNo controlled human trials of the BPC-157 + TB-500 blendNo controlled human trials of the BPC-157 + TB-500 blend
Regulatory statusNot approved — research use onlyNot approved — research use only

The Combination Evidence Gap — No Controlled Human Trial (2025-2026)

This is the article's most important section. It does not get softened.

A PubMed search at the time of writing returns no human trial of BPC-157 combined with TB-500, and a ClinicalTrials.gov search returns no registered Phase 2 or Phase 3 trial of the combination at any stage. The only human combination data are four patients in an uncontrolled 2021 retrospective chart review of knee-pain patients at an Orlando, Florida clinic, who received BPC-157 with thymosin beta-4 in a form the paper does not specify (Lee and Padgett, PMID 34324435); there was no control group.[8] Otherwise the two compounds have been studied separately. BPC-157's human record is five small studies: two placebo-controlled enema studies from 2002–2005 reported only as conference abstracts (a 32-person phase 1 safety study and a 53-person ulcerative-colitis trial), and three uncontrolled pilot reports by one Florida physician (2021, 2024, 2025), the latest a two-subject IV safety pilot by Lee and Burgess that reported no measurable change in the markers it tested (PMID 40131143).[3] No controlled trial has shown efficacy: FDA's July 2026 briefing found the one randomised trial too thinly reported and exploratory to support effectiveness.[9] The RegeneRx RGN-259 ophthalmic programme has produced the Phase 3 ARISE-1, ARISE-2, and ARISE-3 dry-eye data for full-length Thymosin Beta-4[2] — but none of these is a controlled test of the combination, and RGN-259 is full-length Tβ4, not the "TB-500" synthetic fragment.

All combination-context material published in 2025-26 falls into one of three buckets:

The honest summary: in 2026 the BPC-157 + TB-500 blend is a research-tool format with two well-characterised single-compound preclinical mechanisms and a combination evidence base that, in human terms, amounts to four patients in one uncontrolled 2021 chart review. That is not a critique of the format. It is the actual state of the literature, and any research catalog framing the blend should reflect it.

What the Preclinical Combination Literature Does Cover

The preclinical co-administration record is thin compared with the per-compound literature, but it exists. The few rodent and in-vitro studies that have tested BPC-157 with a Tβ4-derived fragment in parallel typically use one of three designs:

What is missing from the published combination record is anything that closes the translation gap to humans: a registered combination trial, a pharmacokinetic profile of the co-administered pair, a dose-response surface for the combination, or a head-to-head comparison of the blend against either single-compound vial in a controlled human cohort. None of those exists in the indexed literature.

The FDA Compounding Review as Policy Backdrop

The U.S. regulatory backdrop for the BPC-157 + TB-500 conversation in 2026 is not the science of either compound. It is the FDA compounding-pharmacy review, and the politics around it.

NBC News reported in April 2026 that the FDA's evaluation of BPC-157 and TB-500 for inclusion on the 503A Bulks List is partly driven by HHS Secretary Robert F. Kennedy Jr.'s public support for both peptides in the longevity community.[5] That political layer is a published fact about the proceeding, not a clinical claim about either molecule.

For a research reader, the implication is straightforward. The U.S. regulatory environment around BPC-157 and TB-500 in 2026 is moving on a timeline driven partly by policy attention rather than purely by new clinical evidence — which means the published evidence base (preclinical signal, thin human record, no controlled combination study) is the same in May 2026 as it was in late 2025, even as the surrounding noise has increased. Research-use framing should track the evidence, not the noise.

Regulatory update — FDA, April & July 2026. On April 15, 2026, Reuters reported that the FDA would convene its Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee to review wider access to some peptides, and a Federal Register notice (April 16, 2026) scheduled the PCAC meeting for July 23–24, 2026 to consider BPC-157 and TB-500, among others, for inclusion on the 503A Bulks List (Docket FDA-2025-N-6895).[6] KPV and MOTS-c were on the same docket. FDA's Category 2 page, updated April 22, 2026, lists BPC-157 and TB-500 under "Bulk drug substances nominated but withdrawn"; neither is in Category 1 of FDA's 503A category list, so leaving Category 2 did not by itself clear either peptide for compounding.[12] On July 23, 2026 the committee voted to recommend adding BPC-157 for ulcerative colitis and TB-500 for wound healing, each reportedly 8 to 6 with one abstention, both against the advice of FDA's own reviewers.[4][7] The votes are non-binding, and no final FDA action had been published as of October 7, 2026. Research-use supply is not affected. Sources: reuters.com; FDA PCAC meeting notice.

Storage & Handling for the Blend

The blend is supplied as a lyophilized 10 mg total peptide vial (5 mg BPC-157 + 5 mg TB-500) and is handled like any other short-peptide research vial. The fact that two compounds share the vial does not change the storage chemistry:

These notes describe the research-vial format only. The page provides no human-use dosing, preparation or veterinary instructions and is not a clinical-protocol document. Wider storage questions are covered in the peptide stability and storage guide.

What the Blend Literature Does Not Yet Give You

Cautious reading of the BPC-157 + TB-500 combination record requires acknowledging four real gaps.

These gaps are not arguments against studying the combination. They are arguments against framing the blend as a validated stack while the human combination evidence is limited to four patients in one uncontrolled chart review.

BPC + TB-500 Blend Research-Use Supply & Format

For research use, the BPC-157 + TB-500 blend belongs in the category of co-formulated repair-signalling research peptides — supplied as a lyophilized 5 mg + 5 mg vial with cold-chain handling for in-vitro work, and — when in stock — shipped with the active lot reference confirmed before dispatch.

The BPC-157 + TB-500 blend vial page documents the catalog format, current pricing, and purity line. The two compounds are also available as separate research vials for investigators who need each compound on its own: the BPC-157 10mg research vial and the TB-500 10mg research vial ship under the same 2-8°C cold-chain handling. Researchers who want a fixed 1:1 mass ratio typically prefer the blend; researchers who need either compound on its own, or per-compound batch-reference tracking, typically prefer the separate vials.

Each vial is supplied to a >99% HPLC line standard for in-vitro research; published Janoshik batch reports across the Retatrutide range are indexed in the COA library, and Dubai sourcing checks are in the blend Dubai guide. For mechanism depth, the dedicated BPC-157 healing peptide review and TB-500 (Thymosin Beta-4 fragment) review remain the controlling references; this page sits on top of those two, framing the combination question rather than duplicating either compound walkthrough.

Material is supplied strictly for in-vitro laboratory research. It is not framed for human use, not framed for veterinary use, and not framed as a treatment.

Our Research Standards

This article prioritizes primary preclinical literature, PubMed and ClinicalTrials.gov negative-result searches, the public FDA docket, and named press reporting. Where the combination evidence record is absent, we say so directly. No therapeutic, human-use, or veterinary-use claim is made here. Read our editorial policy →

RP
About the Authors

Editorial Board, Remy Research

The Remy Research editorial board reviews peptide chemistry, preclinical literature, and regulatory developments across the research-use catalog. The board's standing brief is to keep article framing inside what the published evidence supports, with explicit flags where the literature is preclinical, anecdotal, or pending agency review.

About the editorial team →

BPC + TB-500 Blend Research FAQ

What is in the BPC-157 + TB-500 research blend?

Each lyophilized vial contains 5 mg BPC-157 (CAS 137525-51-0, 15-amino-acid pentadecapeptide, MW 1419.55 g/mol) co-formulated with 5 mg of TB-500, which FDA and the anti-doping literature define as the synthetic Thymosin Beta-4 fragment Ac-LKKTETQ (Tβ4 residues 17–23, CAS 885340-08-9; full-length Tβ4 is CAS 77591-33-4). Products sold as TB-500 vary, so the COA mass is what identifies a vial's contents. Total 10 mg lyophilized peptide content per vial. It is supplied strictly for in-vitro laboratory research and is not an approved medicine.[1][2][10]

Why do researchers stack BPC-157 and TB-500 in one vial?

The rationale is mechanistic complementarity rather than published synergy. BPC-157's preclinical signal centres on nitric oxide signalling, VEGF/eNOS-driven angiogenesis, and FAK-paxillin growth-factor activity. TB-500 is studied as a Thymosin Beta-4 fragment, but the G-actin sequestration and cell-migration biology behind its rationale is documented for full-length Thymosin Beta-4; the biological effects of TB-500 itself have not been documented. The two are thought to act on distinct biology, which is why investigators sometimes co-administer them in animal-model repair work.[1][2][11]

Is the BPC-157 + TB-500 blend more effective than separate vials?

No published peer-reviewed human evidence supports that claim. There are no Phase 2 or Phase 3 clinical trials of the BPC-157 + TB-500 combination. The blend format is a co-formulation convenience for researchers running fixed-ratio in-vitro work; it is not a validated efficacy claim. Investigators who need either compound on its own should use the separate BPC-157 10mg research vial and TB-500 10mg research vial instead.

Are there peer-reviewed human trials of the BPC-157 + TB-500 combination?

No. No trial has tested BPC-157 together with TB-500: a PubMed and ClinicalTrials.gov search at the time of writing returns no combination trial, published or registered. The only human combination data are four patients in an uncontrolled 2021 retrospective chart review who received BPC-157 with thymosin beta-4, in a form the paper does not specify (Lee and Padgett, PMID 34324435). BPC-157's own human record is five small studies: two placebo-controlled enema studies from 2002–2005 reported only as conference abstracts, and three uncontrolled pilot reports by one Florida physician (2021, 2024 and 2025, the latest the Lee and Burgess two-subject IV safety pilot, PMID 40131143). Full-length Thymosin Beta-4 has its own RegeneRx RGN-259 ARISE Phase 3 ophthalmic programme. None of these is a controlled test of the combination.[3][8][9]

What is the FDA reviewing on July 23-24, 2026?

The FDA Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee reviewed BPC-157, TB-500, KPV, and MOTS-c for the 503A Bulks List on July 23-24, 2026 (Docket FDA-2025-N-6895). It voted to recommend BPC-157 for ulcerative colitis and TB-500 for wound healing (each reported 8 to 6 with one abstention), both against FDA reviewers' advice; the votes are non-binding and no final FDA action had been published as of October 7, 2026. NBC News reported in April 2026 that the review is partly driven by HHS Secretary Robert F. Kennedy Jr.'s public support for these peptides in the longevity community. Research-use supply is not affected.[4][5][7]

How is the BPC-157 + TB-500 blend stored?

The lyophilized blend vial is stored at 2-8°C, protected from light, with long-term storage at -20°C. In warm climates, documented cold-chain handling from arrival to the bench is the main stability safeguard.

How is the BPC-157 + TB-500 blend supplied for research use?

Remy Research supplies the BPC-157 + TB-500 blend as a lyophilized 5 mg + 5 mg research vial under 2-8°C cold-chain handling, with tracked cold-chain delivery when in stock. The blend is supplied strictly for in-vitro laboratory research only. It is not framed for human use, veterinary use, or therapeutic application. The active lot reference can be confirmed before dispatch. The blend is supplied to a >99% HPLC line standard for in-vitro research; published Janoshik COAs across the Retatrutide range are indexed in the COA library.

Sources

  1. Sikiric P, Seiwerth S, Rucman R, et al. Brain-gut axis and pentadecapeptide BPC 157: theoretical and practical implications. Curr Neuropharmacol. 2016;14(8):857-865. doi: 10.2174/1570159X13666160502153022 · PMID: 27138887. See also Hsieh MJ et al., J Mol Med 2017;95(3):323-333 on the VEGFR2 pathway, PMID: 27847966. Mechanism depth in the dedicated BPC-157 review. ↩
  2. Goldstein AL, Hannappel E, Sosne G, Kleinman HK. Thymosin β4: a multi-functional regenerative peptide. Basic properties and clinical applications. Expert Opin Biol Ther. 2012;12(1):37-51. doi: 10.1517/14712598.2012.634793 · PMID: 22074294. Bock-Marquette I et al., Nature 2004;432(7016):466-472 on cardiac repair, PMID: 15565145. Mechanism depth in the dedicated TB-500 review. ↩
  3. Lee E, Burgess K. Safety of Intravenous Infusion of BPC157 in Humans: A Pilot Study. Altern Ther Health Med. 2025;31(5):20-24. PMID: 40131143. McGuire FP, Martinez R, Lenz A, Skinner L, Cushman DM. Regeneration or Risk? A Narrative Review of BPC-157 for Musculoskeletal Healing. Curr Rev Musculoskelet Med. 2025;18(12):611-619. PMC: PMC12446177. Neither paper tests the BPC-157 + TB-500 combination. ↩
  4. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee Meeting, July 23-24, 2026 — agenda and docket FDA-2025-N-6895. fda.gov advisory committee calendar ↩
  5. NBC News (NBC Miami). FDA weighs loosening restrictions on peptides as longevity community — and RFK Jr. — pushes for access. April 2026. nbcmiami.com/news/national-international/fda-peptides-weighs-loosen-restrictions-longevity-rfk-jr/3796345/ ↩
  6. Reuters. US FDA to convene expert panel to review wider access to some peptides. April 15, 2026. reuters.com. Federal Register notice 2026-07361, April 16 2026 (PCAC July 23–24 2026 docket). ↩
  7. Choi J. FDA panel votes to add peptides to permitted compounding list despite opposition from agency scientists. The Hill. July 23, 2026. thehill.com ↩
  8. Lee E, Padgett B. Intra-Articular Injection of BPC 157 for Multiple Types of Knee Pain. Altern Ther Health Med. 2021;27(4):8-13. PMID: 34324435. Retrospective chart review with no control group; 4 of the 16 patients reached received BPC-157 combined with thymosin beta-4 (form not stated). ↩
  9. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. FDA briefing document on BPC-157 (ulcerative colitis), Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee meeting, July 23–24, 2026. fda.gov/media/193343. Reviews five human studies: two placebo-controlled studies published only as meeting abstracts (Veljaca et al. 2002/2003; Ruenzi et al. 2005) and three uncontrolled pilot reports (Lee and Padgett 2021; Lee, Walker and Ayadi 2024; Lee and Burgess 2025). ↩
  10. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. FDA briefing document on TB-500 (wound healing), Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee meeting, July 23–24, 2026. fda.gov/media/193349. Ho EN, Kwok WH, Lau MY, et al. Doping control analysis of TB-500, a synthetic version of an active region of thymosin β4, in equine urine and plasma by liquid chromatography-mass spectrometry. J Chromatogr A. 2012;1265:57-69. PMID: 23084823. Delcourt V, Garcia P, Chabot B, et al. Equine Doping Controls of Thymosin β4: A Population Study and Strategy for Misuse Detection. Drug Test Anal. 2025;17(7):1071-1077. PMID: 39314109. ↩
  11. Rahaman KA, Muresan AR, Min H, et al. Simultaneous quantification of TB-500 and its metabolites in in-vitro experiments and rats by UHPLC-Q-Exactive orbitrap MS/MS and their screening by wound healing activities in-vitro. J Chromatogr B Analyt Technol Biomed Life Sci. 2024;1235:124033. doi: 10.1016/j.jchromb.2024.124033 · PMID: 38382158. ↩
  12. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Certain Bulk Drug Substances for Use in Compounding that May Present Significant Safety Risks (Category 2). Updated April 22, 2026. fda.gov. Lists BPC-157 and "Thymosin beta-4, fragment (LKKTETQ), also known as TB-500" under "Bulk drug substances nominated but withdrawn". FDA 503A bulk drug substances category list, May 14, 2026: fda.gov/media/94155. ↩

For product-format details, see the BPC-157 + TB-500 blend vial, the BPC-157 10mg research vial, and the TB-500 10mg research vial. For sourcing checks, continue to the blend Dubai guide and the COA library.